RSS

Rebecca (1940): Some Thoughts

22 Apr

Okay, okay, I admit it. I haven’t been watching Hindi films in a while. But I’ve seen so many old Hollywood films lately. And Rebecca is one of them. I must confess I was over on Dustedoff’s blog reading about Tyrone Power week (Because he is just lovely!), and then some of you guys started talking about Laurence Olivier. And they showed Rebecca. First impression? I just thought, “Meh, don’t really like him.”

Every single time that happens I end up falling head-over-heels later with that same actor. Same thing with Laurence. :P I don’t know why, but at first I didn’t really like Maxim de Winter. I was watching only ’cause it was a Hitchcock film. But towards the end, where Maxim is telling the narrator about Rebecca, I just, argh, I dunno, I just liked him so much. And I was rooting for him in the end. And I smiled at the last bit when he found the narrator unscathed.

BUT. That wasn’t enough to make me start liking Laurence Olivier completely. Not yet. About two weeks ago I had one of my, “Hey, let’s go do something idiotic” moments and decided to use Maxim de Winter as a base of sorts for one of my characters in a role-play. So I went to look him up and I ended up on IMDB and just, don’t ask me how it happened, but it was one of those moments, and I just really really really started liking Laurence Olivier. Don’t even ask me how. I dunno how either.

rebecca

So yeah, that leaves me all liking him over here. BUT. I wanna talk about the film, which is simply amazing. Joan Fontaine is just so good, you know, all innocent and school girl-y. (Especially when Maxim tells her in the end, “You’ve grown so much older in just a few hours. It’s gone, that funny, lost look, I loved.”) And oh my God Mrs. Danvers.

She is just so creepy on so many levels. Really. In that scene where she finds out that the narrator broke the statue thing, dude, the look she gave the narrator. But then Maxim made me crack up when he said, “YES YES THANK YOU MRS. DANVERS.” That was spectacular, Maxim. Spectacular.

And also about the character of Maxim de Winter. A bunch of people were all like, “Pfft, he needs a slap in the face, that spoiled, rich playboy.” Uh, no. He’s just murdered his wife, or well, in the film, made it to look like her death was an accident, and it really wasn’t his fault. And I don’t know why he behaves like that with the narrator, but what do you guys think? Was he nice or did he really deserve to be slapped?

Also, shoot me for being biased towards Maxim because of Laurence. :P

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2013 in Hollywood, Musings

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Rebecca (1940): Some Thoughts

  1. ASHOK M VAISHNAV

    April 22, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Rebecaa, in absentia, drives the whole story. So, yes, Maxim does deserve some sympathy.

     
    • bombaynoir

      April 25, 2013 at 4:52 am

      YES! Thanks for understanding! :D I’m planning to get the book soon! Have you read the book?

       
      • ASHOK M VAISHNAV

        April 25, 2013 at 11:17 am

        I have read it several times, the last one being a fortnight ago.

         
        • bombaynoir

          April 26, 2013 at 3:52 am

          That’s awesome! :D I hope I’ll get it soon, so that I can have a mental image of Laurence Olivier and SWOON! (Also, unpopular opinion: I think Laurence Olivier and Joan Fontaine made a great couple, much as they didn’t get along off-screen!)

           
  2. Anu Warrier

    April 23, 2013 at 8:11 am

    Joan Fontaine – Alfred Hitchcock didn’t think much of her acting skills. :) But yes, Rebecca was beautifully made.

     
    • bombaynoir

      April 25, 2013 at 4:53 am

      Really? Why not? I thought Hitchcock thought she was good, after all, they did do Suspicion. Maybe I should rewatch. Maybe not. I’ll be too busy staring at Cary Grant anyway.

       
      • Anu Warrier

        April 25, 2013 at 11:55 am

        Here, read what he says about Joan – third paragraph, last four or five lines.

        http://www.rouge.com.au/4/paradine_rappaport.html

         
        • bombaynoir

          April 26, 2013 at 3:57 am

          “But it’s a dead heat between him and Joan in the left-eyebrow-raised school of emoting.”

          I legit fell off my bed laughing at that! HAHAHAHAHA. Greg and Joan! GAHAHAHA. And I was giggling all the way through about Greg’s lack of English accent. And I giggled even harder when he said Laurence Olivier didn’t look old enough in Rebecca. Sure, sure, Maxim was supposed to be 42, and he was what, 33? HEH. HEH. HEH.

          But thanks for sharing, Anu!

           

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

