RSS

Harvey (1950): Rant, rant, rant!

05 Aug

Hey everyone. So I’ve finally gotten a little bit of free time to myself and here I am with a little blog post. More of a rant, really. I’ve hit my 20,00 word goal for Camp NaNoWriMo, and my bones are not as broken now. Heh. So, yeah. (:

Now, Dustedoff has a great review on this over here and if you want a real review with no spoilers, read that one. This is just a rant, I s’pose. All right, on with the good stuff. And just warning, it’s gonna be all pictures of James because he’s the only one I found worth taking screenshots of.

harvey1

Right so Anvita started talking about this film on chat and I thought, “Oh okay, Dustedoff wrote a review on it and I intend to see it sometime or the other.” But then she added that people tried to send James to the asylum. Okay, WHAT?! Then we had a good deal of ranting and raging in our chat. I get extremely worked up when police officers come and try to arrest people in a movie. (Unless they’re arresting the bad guys.) But more often than not they get after the wrong guy, right? (I think I’ve been watching too many Hitchcock films.)

So anyway I have a hard enough time dealing with the police. (Side note: The other day I nearly had a total crisis while watching Johnny Eager. Robert Taylor got arrested and he deserved it? But that was soon solved ’cause he is so awesome and badass in that film.) The last thing I want to do is deal with James being lugged off to an asylum.

Look, Elwood is the cutest, sweetest, most polite guy I’ve seen. Sure, James is always polite in all his roles, but here he’s just so sweet. I want to give him a hug. But he’s almost vulnerable to a fault in this film, and he won’t stand up for himself. Take for example the other characters of his that I have seen. Mike Connor from The Philadelphia Story, full of witty comments, and incredibly romantic. Rupert Cadell from Rope, smart (he figures out what’s going on!) and full of guts. Martin Brietner of The Mortal Storm – he’s so brave and he actually stands up to the Nazis! Oh, you go, James!

harvey3

But, yeah. In this film when they try to send him to the asylum, he’s either just really thick-headed (which I doubt; James has always been smart.) or he just doesn’t mind! I mean, I just can’t describe it. He gives people his card and flowers (oh James, why don’t you do that to me? Why don’t you hold my hand; flirt with me? Anything wrong with me? -cries-) and he has an obsession with putting a flower on his lapel.

Which is totally fine considering this scene from ten years earlier in The Shop Around the Corner. (Look at his pretty eyes! Oh my gosh! :D) And the whole carnation thing. My heart flipped when he put it on his lapel in front of Margaret Sullavan.

shop24Dear Friend. <3

Oh but let’s not get off-topic here. Anyway, Elwood is simply adorable. I wish he would sock some people so bad (and they deserved it too!) and perhaps just snap. James, make a witty remark, make a snide comment, lose your temper, whatever, but God, he is just so polite in this film. As mentioned above, I would love him to punch people.

(Another side note: I have a strange obsession with the character James played in After the Thin Man. *spoilers for After the Thin Man* David Graham. :3 I mean, sure he turned out to be a murderer and such, but young James Stewart is so cute. And. The best part about him is that he actually pulls out a gun (oh, yes!) and nearly socks a doctor. Oh, lovely, lovely. *end spoilers*)

No, but Elwood is sane. He’s saner than all of you put together. Which brings me to the sister and the niece. Poor Elwood. He’s surrounded by idiots. (LOL, Brings to mind a scene from The Man Who Knew Too Much where he was trying to eat Indian food!) But Elwood doesn’t care. I mean the aunt, Veta, also played in Arsenic and Old Lace. At least she was tolerable there. Here, she just gets on my nerves.

harvey11

So, yeah. Apparently, Happy Dale has taught her nothing. I mean, she is just off her rocker in this film. Elwood’s perfectly all right. She’s just hysterical. I mean, when she comes back from the asylum, she’s hysterical (Aside: Thank goodness for the fact that she was the idiot that got shoved in the hydro tub, not James. Just. Thank goodness. Or else there would be broken bones on my end, again.) and she still wants to send him there?! I mean, c’mon, what is this?

And Elwood isn’t hurting anyone. He makes friends so easily and invites them over for dinner. If she doesn’t like it, and if the niece doesn’t like it, they can jolly well get out. In case they forgot, Elwood owns the place. In fact, the nice even says, “Lots of people get run over by trucks every day. Can’t something like that happen to Uncle Elwood?”

Well, screw you. I’ll run you over with a truck, and I’ll do it with pleasure. Nothing should ever happen to James. He’s amazing.

harvey8

This film was supposed to make me feel good. Did it? No. I got so angry, so worked up towards the end (I was yelling all sorts of Gone With the Wind cusses, particularly “God’s nightgown!” and “great balls of fire!”) when that stupid Veta was trying to make him take that god-knows-what serum, which, to quote the movie, would “shock him back to reality”.

Errr. Shock. Er. Um. I have a problem with the word shock. Maybe I’m the mental one here, but if you’ve seen Jewel Thief you know why I have a problem with it.

When James refused it (YOU GO JAMES.) I was just thinking, “Thank goodness. So he’s not thickheaded, just really nice, but he knows when to stand up for himself. Thaaaank you, James.” You see? Reasons why I love him.

OH OH OH OH OH OH BUT VETA BLACKMAILS HIM INTO TAKING IT. Dude. To quote The Big Sleep, I wanted to “sock her in the choppers”. Hard. Now look, if James is not gonna stand up for himself I’m gonna jump right in there and start beating some people up. Oh, and then he agrees. I wanted to explode by that point.

harvey10

BUT THANK GOD FOR THE TAXI DRIVER OHHHHHHHHHHH.

I mean, thank God for him. I was basically in tears by that point, and my hands were very, very bruised and my room was a mess. (But no I didn’t break any bones haha.) So yeah, James escapes harm and that is good enough for me. Though then I ended up with one heck of a stomach ache from bottling everything up.

So then I watched The Scarlet Pimpernel. Because Leslie Howard. <3 Leslie. Howard. I recite the Scarlet Pimpernel poem more than is socially acceptable. And I also overuse the “who, sir? you sir? no sir!” thing so much. Annnnd I’ve been trying so much to talk like Leslie too. And failing, of course. LOL.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2013 in Hollywood, Rants

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Harvey (1950): Rant, rant, rant!

  1. dustedoff

    August 5, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    Wow, you have been watching a lot of Hollywood, haven’t you? And some great films, too. I love a lot of the ones you’ve mentioned (by the way, have you seen Destry Rides Again? James Stewart in a Western, so some guns there too – and he draws. :-)

    20,000 words is good! How far into your story are you? When are you likely to finish? Would love to read!

     
    • bombaynoir

      August 6, 2013 at 7:27 am

      Yes, I have been watching a lot of old Hollywood! :D (Oh, Leslie! Oh Bogie! Oh, Jimmy! Oh, Fred! <3) Have you seen After the Thin Man? I must humbly confess to recording the film only for James and then forwarding all the parts in which he wasn’t there. Despite the fact that I love William Powell. BUT IT WAS TOTALLY WORTH IT I SAW JAMES WEAR A TOP HAT WHATWHAT.

      I did the same thing with Rose Marie. I forwarded through the whole film, watched the five minutes that he was in it, ranted (I made a whole video about me ranting!), melted into a puddle because he was so adorable, and then raged out like hell over the officer who arrested him. One does not simply arrest James Stewart. You better get that, officer. ‘Cause if I’m not dealing with idiots trying to send him to the asylum, I’m definitely not dealing with idiotic officers.

      I want to see Destry Rides Again SO BADLY. I never thought I’d want to see a Western so much but young James and being a total badass with guns = YESYESYES. And that too, with scarves and hats and him being totally adorable! (Now, the whole thing with How the West Was Won is just… no.
      1. James fix your English you were a professor in Vivacious Lady I don’t even care just QUIT USING DOUBLE NEGATIVES.
      2. What kind of an outfit is that just… no, just no. Stick to your Destry Rides Again stuff. I mean it looks like a Superman T-shirt in the 1830′s what is this.
      3. James, you can be cutely idiotic (hard to explain), but you can be IDIOTICALLY IDIOTIC which makes me worry for your safety. You were idiotically idiotic in this film.
      4. HEY IF YOU’RE FIGHTING IN THE CIVIL WAR WHY DON’T YOU GO FIND LESLIE – uh, I mean Ashley Wilkes – AND THEN YOU TWO CAN FIGHT AGAINST THE YANKEES although the Yankees will still win and they will burn Atlanta and I will fangirl over Leslie’s ripped up clothes (I know I sound weird) and Clark <333)

      Sorry about that. I do all these random rants. xD I'm still not that far into my story, but it was my goal for this month. I'm so lazy (I always end up somehow giggling over Leslie doing something totally insignificant (for example, I was writing my story the other day and I got distracted by Tumblr and I ended up trying to watch Of Human Bondage and I was laughing my head off over the way Leslie decided to abandon art so quickly and go be a medical student I mean Leslie take some time and think about it don’t rush it. I’m a mess whenever I watch his films. Can never take anything seriously.)

      …My God, I’m ranting so much today.

       
      • dustedoff

        August 6, 2013 at 12:38 pm

        I have to admit I can’t bear Leslie Howard, so let’s agree to disagree on that! ;-)

         
        • bombaynoir

          August 7, 2013 at 7:46 am

          Aww, why not? I mean, I get it if you didn’t like him in Pygmalion because he was a total jerk in it. (But by that point I loved him so much that it didn’t matter, and everything he did was adorable.) I saw him in The Petrified Forest and fell in love with him instantly! :D <3 Then The Scarlet Pimpernel, etc.

          …Oh, well. More for me! :D (I’m sorry I drank coffee today I danced around the house with a top hat singing Fred Astaire songs then I dug up a tweed jacket and pretended to be Michael Redgrave I was totally over the top today BUT IT WAS FUN! :D)

           
          • dustedoff

            August 7, 2013 at 1:07 pm

            I haven’t seen Pygmalion, but I’ve seen him in The Scarlet Pimpernel and Gone With the Wind (and a few others) – but I just don’t like him because he strikes me as rather effeminate. You can have him!

             
            • bombaynoir

              August 10, 2013 at 12:46 am

              LOL. I could see how you would think that after watching The Scarlet Pimpernel (though I LOVED him in that film!), and I haven’t seen Gone With the Wind. Have you seen The Petrified Forest, though? If you haven’t, pleaseeeeeeeeeee give him a chance and watch it! :D I mean, it’s also got Bette Davis and Humphrey Bogart in it!

              Sorry for the late reply, by the way! Got busy again.

               
      • geniosity514

        August 10, 2013 at 3:49 am

        Did you ever finish Vivacious Lady?

         
        • bombaynoir

          August 10, 2013 at 4:06 am

          No, I didn’t! :( It’s on my computer, but I’ve got no time to watch it, ’cause my aunt makes me get off quite early and I have a lot of stuff to do. But they’re showing it on TV soon (yes, on TCM! :D) and so I will be able to watch it ’cause I won’t need to worry about doing stuff on the computer. xD

          I dunno if that made sense, sorry.

           
          • geniosity514

            August 16, 2013 at 1:31 pm

            I actually saw that!!! They’re posting it August 26th :D Which is special to me because anything beginning with August 20 whatever always reminds me of my birthday! But isn’t it at like 6:30 in the morning or something? :O

             
            • bombaynoir

              August 27, 2013 at 4:32 am

              Okay late reply very late reply but yeah, I have DvR so it records stuff. <3
              If not, I would have gladly woken up at 6.30 to watch it. Back in Singapore, I didn't have the recording thingy so I actually ended up having to stay up all night once to watch Johny Mera Naam. Still. Absolutely. Worth. It.

              I WATCHED IT THOUGH AND JIMMY THOUGH JIMMY OH GOD ALMIGHTY PLS SAVE ME JIMMY I WANT HIM SO BADLY RIGHT NOW -FLAILS-
              LIKE
              WHY CAN’T HE BE MY BIOLOGY PROFESSOR
              I WANT I WANT I WANT I WANT -flails helplessly-

               
    • geniosity514

      August 10, 2013 at 3:47 am

      James Stewart in Destry Rides Again <3 <3 I find him the most attractive in that film, strangely, mainly because he's a crack shot but won't use a gun for philosophical reasons. The end was kind of "so what you have to use guns when it gets down to it," which ruined the philosophy part, though :/

       
      • bombaynoir

        August 10, 2013 at 4:05 am

        Oh my gosh, all I know is that Destry Rides Again = Jimmy being cute cute cute cute cute cute cute and hilariously getting kicked by Marlene Dietrich. :D

         
        • geniosity514

          August 16, 2013 at 1:32 pm

          OH MY GOSH THE CHAIR
          THE GIFS
          Jimmy is the only thing that made that movie good for me. Idk- I don’t really know if westerns are my kind of thing. And I totally predicted the ending. PSHHHH.

           
          • bombaynoir

            August 27, 2013 at 4:33 am

            YEAH THE CHAIR IT’S SO ADORABLE GOSHHHHHHH
            Oh I know you might be hesitant about Westerns at first. So was I. But I like them now.

            PROBABLY BECAUSE GORGEOUS GARY COOPER BUT I’M SHALLOW LIKE THAT SO YEAH. <3

             
  2. geniosity514

    August 10, 2013 at 3:50 am

    Oh, and you know how I feel about this movie already, although I wouldn’t have changed James’s personality for the world. I would have given him a personal bodyguard though, and joined you in running over his niece and sister. Actually maybe I’d just club the sister on the head- crazy old coot.

     
    • bombaynoir

      August 10, 2013 at 3:58 am

      Omg. We should be his personal bodyguards and then we could make friends with Harvey and join James in inviting people over to dinner and picking flowers and stuff. -SQUEAL- Oh yeah, I would run the niece over though. I mean really. The sister… I would probably beat her up big time, like how Bogie got beat up in The Big Sleep. When she started emotionally blackmailing James in the end I got SO MAD UGHHHH.

       
      • geniosity514

        August 16, 2013 at 1:34 pm

        YESSS PLZ YES
        The niece deserves to be run over :P HOW DARE SHE WISH JAMES GET RUN OVER?!?!?! I started spluttering with angriness at that point.
        Speaking of which, should I watch Ziegfield girl??? Is it worth it for James angrily kissing people? Or should I watch another Cary Grant movie?
        Who am I kidding, with school starting I don’t have time to watch anything right now :( :(

         
        • bombaynoir

          August 27, 2013 at 4:35 am

          NONONONONONONONONONO
          AVOID ZIEGFELD GIRL
          AVOID
          AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID
          He broke my heart into so many pieces in that film I ended up crying half angrily and half out of sadness. (Also, it totally did not help that I had earlier watched Leslie get himself shot by Bogie. Yup.) I mean, he looks absolutely perfect in that film but I endeed up forwarding through most of it ’cause he wasn’t there. AND SERIOUSLY HE BROKE MY HEART INTO A MILLION PIECES.

          Watch The Lady Vanishes. :D Michael Redgrave. :D

           
  3. Miranda

    September 13, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    “Apparently Happy Dale has taught her nothing.” Oh my gosh. So funny and true, poor dear. I liked this film a lot as a kid, and Jame’s character is certainly about as fluffy and cuddly as you can possibly be without actually becoming a teddy-bear. But, I was talking to my brother recently about it–and we were like, “No, don’t think we could get through this movie now without our hearts breaking and our blood vessels popping all over the place.”

    That said, I approve of the James love, altho to me, I rarely am attracted to him as much as I just want to be his best friend. I agree that his hotness was at a peak in the late 30s/early 40s. But, unfortunately, After the Thin Man refuses to stick in my mind, as much as I love the main actors and the original film, and I have nothing of worth to say about James hotness in it. I do make an exception for Jamesey hotness in Philadelphia Story. Then I’m like, hmmmmm. Give me more. So much more. In general, I’m more of a James Cagney/Clark Gable/Bogart girl myself.

    And to get in on the burning Leslie Howard question . . .Hot, or too girly?
    I must confess that I disliked him unfairly for a long time because I associated him with his role in Gone with the Wind. Now it’s painfully clear to me that that role just wouldn’t do anyone any favors–and they probably should have cast someone who was a little more feisty as the character so that you got a sense of a good man being beaten down by life (rather than an already weak man just weakening further). Like casting Amitabh Bachchan (normally feisty, and prone to anger and/or goofiness) in the weepy Devdas role in Muqaddar ka Sikandar (1978). It works because it’s so different from what one usually expects from Amitabh–and you care about his dis-empowerment because he’s normally empowered (or at least reaching for some sort of control over his life).

    That said, I finally saw Leslie Howard in Animal Kingdom (1932) last year, and it changed my perspective entirely. The verdict? Hot. Without a doubt. Now that you’ve mentioned it, I should probably see him in The Scarlet Pimpernel. Like, right now.

    ~Miranda

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

